Sudoku
Copyright © 2020 Jiri Kriz, www.nosco.ch

The Sudoku Rule

There is only one rule for the Sudoku game:
Fill the 9x9 grid with the numbers 1 to 9 such that each row, each column and each 3x3 block does not contain a duplicate number, i.e. all these regions must contain all the numbers 1 to 9.

General Usage

This Sudoku Player supports you in solving Sudoku puzzles that you find in newspapers, books and on the Internet. You can also request puzzles in three difficulty degrees. The main features of the player are:

The game has two phases:

Phase 1: Define the Puzzle

In the first phase you define the puzzle.

During this phase you can arbitrarily edit the values in the cells. Click in the "definition row"

pen

on a number - the number gets selected. Click now on an empty field on the board. The selected number will be input there. You can overwrite a number with another one, or you can delete a number when you select "X" in the definition row first.>

You can enter numbers into the board also using the keyboard. First you need to deselect the selected number in the definition row by clicking on it. Now you can select a field on the board by clicking on it and then type a number on a keyboard to enter it into the selected field. When using the keyboard you delete numbers by typing one of 'x', 'del', 'enter', '0'. If a field on the board is selected you can also click a number in the definition row to enter it into the selected field.

So, there are two input methods. You switch from one method to the other one by deselecting the current selection in the definition row or in the board by clicking on it. As soon as nothing is selected, the first subsequent click in the definition row or in the board defines the new input method.

As soon as you are finished with the set up of the puzzle, click on the tab "Solve" to switch to the solving mode.

You can also request a predefined puzzle. Select a difficulty level and press the button "Request Puzzle". A puzzle will be filled into the board. All requested puzzles can be solved by logical rules only. The difficulty levels have the following meaning:

LevelSolution Strategies
Easy Naked Single
Hidden Single
Medium Block/Row Intersection
Block/Column Intersection
Naked Pair
Hard Naked Triple
Hidden Pair
Hidden Triple
X-Wing

You can also enter the Sudoku puzzle also as a string e.g.

or

The string represents the numbers on the board in the row-wise order. Empty cells are represented by "0" or ".".

Enter such a string into the respective field and press the button Set Puzzle.

Phase 2: Solve the Puzzle

In the second phase you solve the puzzle. Click on an empty cell to insert a number using the methods described above. Now, you cannot delete a number directly, but you can "undo" (and "redo") your input. This guarantees that you delete numbers in the opposite order as you entered them which is important for various solution strategies.

The button Show Candidates toggles between the normal view and the "Candidate View". The candidates are the values that can still be entered in a cell without violating the Sudoku constraints. One of the candidates is the solution value. Candidates are automatically recomputed during the game.

Candidates can also be edited. Press the button Edit Candidates to enable this mode. Entering numbers in this mode means editing the candidates in fact entering or deleting candidates. The candidates are not automatically recomputed in this mode but you can trigger the recomputing by pressing the button Recompute Candidates. Your candidat changes are obviously lost by this action.

Commands

Define
Enters the definition mode. A new puzzle is defined.
Request Puzzle
Gets a new puzzle with the selected difficulty level.
Set Puzzle
Enters the puzzle encoded as a string into the Sudoku board.
Delete All
The board and the input string are deleted.
Solve
Enters the solution mode. The defined puzzle is solved.
Undo
Removes the entered numbers in the reversed order of the input.
Redo
Enters numbers back that were removed using Undo.
Show Candidates
The still available candidates are shown.
Edit Candidates
Entered numbers refer to the candidates that are added or removed according to the current state of a cell.
Recalculate Candidates
Candidates are recalculated based on the values of the filled cells. The empty cells obtain the maximal number of candidates that are consistent with the Sudoku rules. Edited candidates are lost.
Clear All
All cells entered in the solution phase are cleared.
Show Solution
The Sudoku is solved and the solution is shown below.

Mouse and Keys

Mouse Click in the Definition Row
A click on a number that is not selected selects this number for the input in the board. If a cell on the boars had already been selected then the definition number is entered into the selected cell on the board. A click on a number that is selected deselects this number.
Mouse Click on the Board
If a definition number is selected then this number is entered into the clicked cell on the board. If no definition number is selected then the clicked cell on the board. becomes selected for a subsequent input. A click on a cell that is selected deselects this cell.
Keys 1, 2, ... 9
A number key pressed on the keyboard enters this number into the selected cell.
Keys 'x', 'del', 'enter', '0'
If a board cell is selected in the definition phase then this cell is cleared.

Implementation Remarks

Generating of Sudoku Puzzles

I generate the Sudoku puzzles offline with a C++ programm. First I construct a randomly filled Sudoku using backtracking. Then, I remove numbers at randomly chosen symmetrical positions and try to solve this Sudoku with the programmed logical rules. If I find a solution, then I have constructed a puzzle. If the Sudoku cannot be solved with the logical rules, I try another starting position. I need about 100'000 trials to generate a "difficult" Sudoku.

Solving of Sudoku Puzzles

Sudoku puzzles are solved using the Javascript program "kudoku" (see Attractive Chaos - kudoku)

Sudoku
Copyright © 2019 Jiri Kriz, www.nosco.ch

Die Sudoku Regel

Das Sudoku Spiel hat nur eine Regel:
Fülle das 9x9 Gitter mit den Zahlen 1 bis 9 aus, sodass alle Zeilen, Kolonnen und 3x3 Blöcke keine doppelten Zahlen enthalten. Anders gesagt, alle diese Regionen müssen alle Zahlen 1 bis 9 enthalten.

Allgemeine Benutzung dieses Spiels

Dieses Sudoku Spiel unterstützt Sie bei der Lösung von Sudoku Rätseln, die Sie in Zeitungen, Büchern und im Interner finden. Es stellt auch vorbereitete Rätsel in drei Schwierigkeitsstufen zur Verfügung. Die hauptsächlichen Eigenschaften dieses Spiels sind die folgenden:

Das Spiel hat zwei Phasen:

Phase 1: Rätsel definieren

In der ersten Phase definieren Sie das zu lösende Sudoku Rätsel.

Während dieser Phase können Sie die Zahlen in den Zellen beliebig editieren. Klicken Sie in der "Definitionszeile"

pen

auf eine Zahl - die Zahl wird selektiert. Klicken Sie jetzt auf ein leeres Feld im Sudoku Raster. Die ausgewählte Zahl wird dort eingetragen. Sie können eine Zahl mir einer anderen Zahl überschreiben, oder Sie können den Zellinhalt löschen, indem Sie zuerst "X" selektieren.

Sie können die Zahlen auch mit der Tastatur eingeben. Dazu darf zuerst keine Zahl in der Definitionszeile selektiert werden. Ist eine solche Zahl selektiert, klicken Sie auf sie und sie wird deselektioniert. Nun können Sie mit einem Mausklick ein Feld im Brett auswählen und dann mit der Tastatur die gewünschte Zahl einsetzet. Mit den Tasten 'x', 'del', 'enter', '0' können Sie die eingegebenen Zahlen löschen. Wenn ein Feld auf dem Brett ausgewählt ist, können Sie auch auf eine Zahl in der Definitionszeile klicken - sie wird dann sofort in das selektierte Feld eingesetzt.

Es gibt also zwei Eingabemöglichkeiten. Sie schalten von einer zur anderen indem Sie die aktuelle Selektion mit einem Klick darauf deselektieren und dann mit einem Klick entweder in der Definitionszeile oder im Brett die neue Eingabemöglichkeit wählen.

Wenn Sie mit der Definition fertig sind, klicken Sie auf den Tabulator Lösen. Dadurch wechseln Sie in den Lösungsmodus (Phase 2).

Sie können auch ein vorbereitetes Rätsel verlangen. Wählen Sie den Schwierigkeitsgrad und drucken Sie auf den Knopf Rätsel verlangen. Ein neues Rätsel wird in das Gitter eingefüllt. Alle verfügbaren Rätsel sind nur mit logischer Überlegung lösbar. Die Schwierigkeitsstufen haben die folgende Bedeutung:

StufeLösungs­strategien
Einfach Nackter Single
Versteckter Single
Mittel Block/Reihe Schnitt
Block/Kolonne Schnitt
Nacktes Paar
Schwierig Nackter Dreier
Verstecktes Paar
Versteckter Dreier
X-Wing

Wenn Sie das Rätsel als eine Zahlenreihe haben, zum Bespiel

oder

dann können Sie diese Reihe in das zugehörige Textfeld kopieren, und mit dem Knopf Rätsel setzen in das Gitter einfügen. Die Zahlenreihe representiert die Zahlen auf dem Brett geordnet nach Reihen. Leere Felder werden durch "0" or "." dargestellt.

Phase 2: Rätsel lösen

In der zweiten Phase lösen Sie das Rätsel. Sie klicken auf ein leeres Feld und setzen eine Zahl mit der oben beschriebenen Methode ein. Nun können Sie eine Zahl nicht direkt löschen, sondern müssen die Befehle Zurück (und Vor) anwenden. Das garantiert, dass die Zahlen in der umgekehrten Reihenfolge gelöscht werden, als sie gesetzt wurden. Dies ist wichtig, wenn Sie z.B. mit der "Versuch-und-Irrtum" Strategie experimentieren.

Der Knopf Kandidaten zeigen schaltet zwischen den Sichten mit oder ohne sichtbare Kandidaten. Die Kandidaten sind die noch möglichen Werte für die Zelle. Ein der Kandidaten ist der Lösungswert. Die Kandidaten werden während dem Spiel automatisch nachgeführt.

Die Kandidaten können auch manuell editiert werden: drucken Sie dazu den Knopf Kandidaten editieren. Wenn Sie jetzt eine Zahl eingeben, dann wird der Kandidat eingefügt oder gelöscht, je nach dem gegenwärtigen Zustand. Diese Möglichkeit ist wichtig für fortgeschrittene logische Lösungsstrategien. In diesem Modus werden die anderen Kandidaten nicht automatisch nachgeführt, Sie können aber die Kandidaten mit dem Befehl Kandidaten neu berechnen neu berechnen lassen. Dabei gehen Ihre Änderungen der Kandidaten verloren.

Befehle

Definieren
Definitionsmodus: Ein neues Spiel wird definiert.
Rätsel verlangen
Ein neues Rätsel mit der gewählten Schwierigkeitsstufe wird in das Gitter gesetzt.
Rätsel setzen
Die Sudoku Kodierung im nebenstehenden Feld wird in das Gitter eingefügt und als Startposition verwendet.
Alles löschen
Das Brett und der Eingabestring werden gelöscht.
Lösen
Lösungsmodus: Das definierte Spiel wird gelöst.
Zurück ("Undo")
Die ausgefüllten Felder werden in der umgekehrten Reihenfolge gelöscht.
Vor ("Redo")
Die mit "Zurück" gelöschten Felder werden mit den ursprünglichen Werten wieder gefüllt.
Kandidaten zeigen
Die verbleibenden Kandidaten werden angezeigt.
Kandidaten editieren
Die Feldeingaben addieren oder löschen Kandidaten. Die anderen Kandidaten werden nicht nachgeführt.
Kandidaten neu berechnen
Die Kandidaten werden neu berechnet ausgehend aus den gefüllten Zellen. Die leeren Zellen erhalten die maximale Anzahl von Kandidaten, die mit der Sudoku Regel konsistent sind. Editierte Kandidaten gehen verloren.
Eingaben löschen
Alle gesetzten, nicht definierten Zellen werden gelöscht.
Lösung zeigen
Das Rätsel wird gelöst und die Lösung wird unten angezeigt.

Maus und Tasten

Maus Klick in der Definitionszeile
Ein Mausklick auf einem nicht-selektierten Feld selektiert die respektive Zahl für die Eingabe im Brett. Wenn bereits ein Feld auf dem Brett selektiert ist. so wird die Definitionszahl in das Brettfeld eingesetzt. Das Definitionsfeld "X" dient dem Löschen. Ein Mausklick auf einem selektierten Feld deselektiert das Feld.
Maus Klick im Brett
Wenn eine Eingabezahl definiert ist, dann wird sie in das angeklickte Brettfeld eingesetzt. Wenn keine Eingabezahl definiert ist, so wird das das angeklickte Brettfeld für eine Zahleingabe selektiert. Ein Mausklick auf einem selektierten Brettfeld deselektiert das Feld.
Tasten 1, 2, ... 9
Wenn ein Brettfeld selektiert wird, so wird die entsprechende Zahl in das selektierte Brettfeld eingefügt.
Tasten 'x', 'del', 'enter', '0'
Wenn ein Brettfeld im Definitionsmodus selektiert wird, so wird es gelöscht.

Bemerkungen zur Implementierung

Generierung der Sudoku Rätsel

Ich generiere die Sudoku Rätsel offline mit einem C++ Programm. Zuerst erstelle ich ein zufällig ausgefülltes Sudoku mit Backtracking. Dann nehme ich Zahlen auf zufälligen symmetrischen Positionen weg. Die so entstandene Sudoku versuche ich mit den programmierten logischen Regeln zu lösen. Wenn ich eine Lösung finde, dann habe ich ein Rätsel konstruiert. Wenn die Sudoku mit den logischen Regeln nicht lösbar ist, versuche ich wieder eine andere zufällige Ausgangsposition. Um eine "schwierige" Sudoku zu generieren, brauche ich etwa 100'000 Versuche.

Lösung von Sudoku Rätseln

Sudoku Rätsel werden mit dem Javascript Programm "kudoku" gelöst (siehe Attractive Chaos - kudoku)